Tags

, , , , ,

Okay, so that post title is corny, but it does go with my topic … sort of.

For shy introverts who find it difficult to say “Boo!” to people they don’t know, marketing a book can be a daunting task. Most—like me—fall into that “reclusive” group. We want to spend the time writing and leave the hawking of our books to the publisher’s marketing department. Unfortunately, that’s not possible, so we look for unique and clever ways to get our names and product in front of readers. 

Many writers use an author newsletter to inform readers of the latest project or book release. As a subscriber to several of these newsletters, I’m always amazed at the variety of designs and materials in them.

Two of my favorites come from Pam Hillman and Margaret Brownley, both western romance writers. Their designs are eye-catching and the information pithy. As a bonus, with each issue, Margaret draws names from her list for book giveaways. (And I’ll add, her newsletter went into my consideration in reading her latest novel, reviewed here on Tuesday.)

When I began my own newsletter a few months ago, I created a template based on the types of information I’ve enjoyed getting from others.Spring NewsletterAbove is a portion of my Spring issue. I decided four times per year was plenty to keep people updated and, hopefully, entertained. For my first issue in December, I took a cue from Margaret Brownley and did a giveaway. This last issue didn’t have one, but the next (end of June) will.

living off the land. (1)

I created the above meme and included it in the spring issue to represent my fiction-writing status. However, it didn’t copy over with the image of the newsletter page for this post.

I’m still tweaking and deciding what’s best, but would be pleased to have your feedback to help me create a newsletter that people want to read. (Of course, you’re more than welcome to subscribe to mine here. ;))

So tell me …

How are the colors (above)?

What do you like to read/see in an author newsletter? What don’t you like included?

How long should it be?

Who sends YOUR favorite newsletter, or do you subscribe to any? Why or why not?

How often should you receive one?

